Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness

Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness

Wife, Step Parent, Doggie Momma, Shoe Lover, Foodie, Beer Drinker and Transformation Coach who loves her family, friends and Jesus. Life is about balance. Enjoy the ride while taking care of your health. My family and my health are my WHY. The reason why I care about fitness and nutrition. My journey to live a healthy lifestyle has changed my life and it's turned into a passion for helping others change their lives too. Transformation is possible. I believe in YOU!


3-Day Refresh Recap and Review

Posted by Janet Smith on July 10 2016, 17:29pm

Categories: #nutrition

The 3-Day Refresh is a program designed by Beachbody that will help you build your fat-burning metabolism by nourishing your body and helping you break the cycle of bad eating habits. Not only will you lose weight but it can help you go on feeling those benefits for weeks to come. The great thing about the 3-Day Refresh is that it comes with you shakes (4 per day) and a set menu for dinner and snack options. It really takes the guesswork out of what to eat. You're not really supposed to work out on this plan, or if you do, you can do some kind of light workout like yoga, pilates or taking a walk.

It's great if you:

- Want to jump start weight loss when starting a new exercise program

- Have over-indulged lately and want to get back on track with diet

- You're trying to lose that last few stubborn pounds.

- You just want to break some of those bad eating habits, cleanse your body and starting eating cleaner.

I decided to try this plan after a few months of not so great eating habits and had the perfect opportunity as I was heading into starting a new workout program with Hammer & Chisel. I did opt to do the Refresh during the weekdays so I didn't have the temptation of weekend activities to deal with.

3-Day Refresh Recap and Review

Some people have reported having headaches (mostly from caffeine withdrawl). I did not experience this and I did not cheat by drinking coffee (I'm usually a 1-2 cup of coffee per day person). I did have a cup of green tea (caffeinated) each morning. And then de-caffeinated herbal tea in the afternoon the first two days. I skipped that on day 3 as I was out running errands.

I followed my normal routine of getting up at 6am and having breakfast, then getting in my workout for the first two days. The third day I was working from home so I did my workout a bit later in the morning but still got some activity in. The first day I did a modified upper body workout (followed the modifier and barely broke a sweat). Day 2, I did pilates and Day 3 I just did some mysofacial release work on the roller and tennis ball.

Breakfast each day was Shakeology and fruit. Mid-morning was the Fiber Sweep drink which wasn't nearly as gross as I anticipated. I didn't mind it at all. Lunch was the Vanilla Refresh shake, a fruit, a veggie and a healthy fat. Mid afternoon snack was another veggie and healthy fat. Then, dinner was a Vanilla Refresh shake and any number of dinner recipe options.

My tip on the food is to look at the volume allotted and choose options that let you have more food. For example, a medium peach is more volume than the raspberries. 2 tbsp of hummus was more than 1 tsp of almond butter. And for dinner, the spinach salad had way more volume than the asparagus.

Read more detail about Day 1 here.

Read more detail about Day 2 here.

Read more detail about Day 3 here.

As I mentioned already, I didn't have any headaches. I did, however have somewhat uncomfortable bloating (mostly on day 2) and seriously achy muscles/joints on day 2 and 3.

Overall, I wasn't hungry at all (well, ok maybe the last night after just asparagus for dinner). The bloating was a bit uncomfortable but manageable. The worst was the muscle ache. I know that not everyone experiences this (apparently I'm in the minority here) so I did some research and the best answer I can find is that perhaps my body was fighting something (flu/cold) and had some major toxins to release. After Day 3, the aches went away and I felt back to normal.

I did skip the workouts for Day 4 and 5 just to let my body recoup and rest up for the new program I'm starting on Day 6.

Results of the Refresh:

I learned that I definitely DO NOT drink enough water. I really need to do better because I felt better when I was hydrated. Plus, it felt more full with liquid in my stomach.

I learned that I tend to snack more, not because I'm hungry, but because I'm bored or because it's a habit. I need to keep that in mind in the afternoons when I feel that craving.

I learned that the Refresh plan has some really yummy and healthy recipes that I definitely will make again.

I learned that I must have had some nasty toxins of some sort that needed flushed out because of all the muscle soreness.

After the refresh, I definitely was more inclined to continue the healthy eating because I was on such a roll.

And...the thing I'm sure you're all waiting for, the physical results.

Day 1 weight = 123

Day 4 weight = 118

Yep, that's 5 lbs of weight loss in 3 days! I do know that I would have lost a couple naturally because I started after the fourth of July holiday weekend were I was a bit bloated and had consumed some extra calories.

I also took measurements. I tried to take them the night before but after pizza and beer, I was bloated. So I did them the morning I started.

Day 1 measurements

waist = 27" (compared to 28 1/2" after dinner the night before - Yikes!)

hips = 33 1/2"

butt = 36"

thighs (both together) = 35 1/2"

chest = 33"

And....drum roll please..... on Day 4, I measured this

waist = 26"

hips = 31 1/2"

butt = 35 1/2 "

thighs = 34 1/2"

chest = 32"

Yes, that is 5 1/2" total.

My clothes fit better and I feel great. My goal was to get down a few pounds so that, in the normal 2-3 lb fluctuation I have in weight, my previous low number would be my new high number. I'd love if 120 lbs was my "heavy" weight.

Here's the before and after

3-Day Refresh Recap and Review
3-Day Refresh Recap and Review

So, let's see if I can keep this off. :)

Would I recommend the 3-Day Refresh? I would. It was a great exercise in discipline and an awesome way to jump start some healthier habits.

If you want to learn more about it or how you can do it too, contact me here.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
T
Its a great pleasure reading your post.Its full of information I am looking for and I love to post a comment that "The content of your post is awesome" Great work.
Reply

Blog archives

Recent posts