Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness

Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness

Wife, Step Parent, Doggie Momma, Shoe Lover, Foodie, Beer Drinker and Transformation Coach who loves her family, friends and Jesus. Life is about balance. Enjoy the ride while taking care of your health. My family and my health are my WHY. The reason why I care about fitness and nutrition. My journey to live a healthy lifestyle has changed my life and it's turned into a passion for helping others change their lives too. Transformation is possible. I believe in YOU!


The BIGGEST MISTAKES you might be making if you're trying to lose weight

Posted by Janet Smith on October 21 2016, 11:07am

Categories: #fitness program, #fitness tips, #inspiration

I see it all the time. Even, sometimes in myself. Definitely in the former me. It is SOOO common for people to fall into these traps when they're trying to lose weight. Here's the article I'm referencing but I'm breaking it down for you. My big takeaways?
 
1. Don't be afraid to eat, just eat the right things. This is why I LOVE the 21 Day Fix meal plan. It not about eating less. It's about eating right. The right portion sizes and the right kinds of foods. I honestly found it tough to eat ENOUGH the food I'm supposed to each when I'm eating the right things.
 
2. Weight training does not make you big, it actually ups your metabolism and burns more calories. It is key to any good weight loss plan. Mixing in cardio and weights is the best option. Another reason I LOVE the 21 Day Fix program for beginners. It's a great mix of both with full body workouts.
 
3. It is a LIFESTYLE not DIET. Diet has a temporary feel. You do it for a while and then you're done. That's how people gain all the weight back. It's about a healthy, balanced lifestyle that you can maintain for the long term, not about depriving yourself in the short term.
 
4. Support systems are so important. Not that you can't succeed with no accountability but boy does it help to have people in your corner, encouraging you and motivating you. This is what I LOVE about Beachbody virtual accountability groups. I know it sounds like we're going to be slave-drivers, making sure you get your workouts in every day or else. But really, it's about encouragement. Yes, I'm going to check in on you if I don't see you posting workouts but it's not a do or die thing. You don't lose the support if you miss a day, or a week, or a month. We all start in different places and some of us want to go slower than others. It's ok as long as we keep progressing and, as a coach, I'm here to support whatever your particular journey looks like. Even better if you bring a friend to the challenge and go on your journey together!
 
5. Set Goals! And make them achievable. Don't start with a goal to lose 50 lbs. That's going to feel like you're never going to get there. Start with 5 lbs. Or start with something that doesn't even show up on the scale, like drinking 1/2 your body weight in water today. Or, getting in 5 workouts this week. Or, maybe not having that afternoon frappucino break. Build from there and it won't seem so daunting. Then you can celebrate the small steps.
 
6. Don't think you can "cheat" just because you worked out today. I used to fall into this trap ALL THE TIME. I worked out today so I can have that cookie. Well, you're cookie probably contained more calories than your workout burned off. I'm not saying you can't cheat once a while but don't use your workout as the excuse to eat anything you want. YOU CAN'T OUT TRAIN A BAD DIET!
 
7. CONSISTENCY. I know I say this a lot but it's so true and really is the key to success. Show up every day and do something. Make it a habit. Honestly, it may not feel like it could EVER become a habit and I used to say that too. But stay consistent and it will. You will start to feel incomplete if you miss that workout and it will drive you to get back at it the next day. it's going to take time and hard work but consistency pays off. TRUST THE PROCESS, DO THE WORK AND THE RESULTS WILL COME. Does this mean we're perfect every day? No. We all have bad days. The days we feel like we have no energy, we didn't get enough sleep, we ate bad the day before so we're struggling or that nagging injury we're nursing. But if you show up, even on those bad days, that shows perseverance and grit and THAT is where the results come in. So what if you didn't kill every move in that workout? You'll come back tomorrow and do better. But getting it done burns calories, even if it's less than normal and it has the mental effect of reminding you that you are capable and you are worth it.
 
 
The BIGGEST MISTAKES you might be making if you're trying to lose weight
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post