Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness

Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness

Wife, Step Parent, Doggie Momma, Shoe Lover, Foodie, Beer Drinker and Transformation Coach who loves her family, friends and Jesus. Life is about balance. Enjoy the ride while taking care of your health. My family and my health are my WHY. The reason why I care about fitness and nutrition. My journey to live a healthy lifestyle has changed my life and it's turned into a passion for helping others change their lives too. Transformation is possible. I believe in YOU!


Crispy Asian Brussels Sprouts

Posted by Janet Smith BeBlessed Health and Fitness on August 18 2017, 08:22am

Categories: #recipe

Crispy Asian Brussels Sprouts

I seriously think that I could eat these EVERY day. No joke - I AM ADDICTED!

They are like the ones so many trendy restaurants are serving for $10 an appetizer but better for you because they aren't fried. The hubby does not appreciate a fine brussels sprout so I tend to make these just for me. Good news is that you can reduce the amount of ingredients to adjust the serving size and when I'm making a smaller amount, I use my toaster oven and they get done in about 20 minutes!

Ingredients
  • 1 pound fresh brussels sprouts
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil (or other high-heat oil such as grapeseed)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce (I use liquid coconut aminos. You can also use fish sauce here if you want something with a bit more flavor)
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice (about half a large lemon)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha sauce
  • Pinch of black pepper
  • Dash of Pink Himalayan salt
 
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F 
  2. Prepare the brussels by cutting off the base of each sprout, slicing them in half from top to bottom and remove the excess or loose exterior leaves.
  3. Soak the cut brussels for a minute in water to clean them.
  4. Drain and spread Brussels out on a paper towel to dry while the oven is preheating.
  5. Spread the spouts out on your cookie sheet and generously drizzle the brussels with the oil and sprinkle with salt. Stir with your hands to ensure they are all coated.
  6. Place in the oven on the top rack for about 45-60 minutes. After 20 and 40 minutes, stir the brussels to ensure all sides get crispy and charred.
  7. During the last 5-10 minutes of cooking, reduce remaining ingredients (soy sauce, maple syrup, garlic, sriracha, lemon juice and black pepper) in a sauté pan over medium-high heat until sauce is thickened, about 5 minutes.
  8. Remove brussels from the oven once all brussels are crispy and slightly charred.
  9. Place them in a bowl and toss with some of the reduced sauce. Do this a little at a time as you don’t want the brussels to be soaked in sauce so they retain their crispy texture.
  10. You may have a little leftover sauce. Eat & enjoy!
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post

Blog archives

Recent posts